“CUL8R”

Mack picked up his phone and nodded when Stu asked, “Maggie?”

It was a text message, of course. “R we on 4 2nite?”

Mack typed in his reply: “That sounds great. I look forward to finally meeting you. Shall I pick you up at your place?”

Stu frowned. “What are you doing?”

“Answering, of course.”

“In paragraphs?”

The phone chimed with Maggie’s response. “OMG. U send longest tms ever.”

Mack thought a moment, then typed his response: “I like to be thorough.”

The response was rapid. “Point of tms is to be s/s. Silly boy.”

Mack grinned. “I don’t want to be misunderstood. I am in the communications business, after all.”

Stu looked over the desk at the phone and shook his head. “You’re killing this,” he said, leaning back in the chair again.

Mack raised an eyebrow at him. “Maybe.” He looked back at the phone in his hand. In moments it chimed again.

“IMHO it a GR8 way to comm. Not to be like IRL.”

“I’m sorry? IRL?”

“In real life.”

Mack frowned at the phone a moment, glancing up at Stu who crossed his arms over his chest.

“I just don’t think I could ever get the hang of it. Does that bother you?”

“Its really NBD.”

“I’m sorry again… NBD?”

“No big deal.”

Mack pursed his lips. “Ah, but I think it IS a big deal. I’m sorry I can’t quite get into the swing of it. It just seems silly to me, to be honest with you.”

After a moment of no response, he typed again. “I HAVE been accused of being a bit of a geek. I’ll even backspace and retype if I got the punctuation wrong! šŸ™‚ ”

Another moment of silence. “My niece sent me a text yesterday in which she told me she less than three me. Threw me for a loop! Of course, then she explained it was a sideways heart and she was saying she loved me.”

Mack glanced up at Stu who said, “She’s running away too fast to be able to text now.”

Mack grinned a little sadly. “Maybe.” Then he typed, “So what time shall I pick you up for dinner tonight?”

After a few moments, his phone chimed. “thx but i just rem i g2g 2 a fam thing this wk. šŸ˜¦ ill ttyl ok?”

Mack stared at the phone for a moment before typing his reply. “Right. I’ll wait to hear from you then. Have fun this weekend!”

There was no response.

Stu looked at his watch and stood up. “What do you suppose she’d say if she found out you’re the CEO of one of the companies that makes her texting possible?”

Mack stood, grinning. “She’d be O-M-G-ing. Now come on, Stu. We don’t want to be L-eight to our M-T-G.”

Stu clapped him on the shoulder as they left the room. “Don’t worry, boss. I still less-than-three you.”

The two laughed as they left the room.

2 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Friday

Leave a Reply

