It was a race to the finish, and not a smooth race. More like a herky-jerky, starts and stops race. I came closer than ever to not making it. But on the last day of NaNoWriMo, in the waning hours of the day, I hit goal #1 – 50,000 words. Then, a few hours later, I hit goal #2 – finish the novel.

It was a real squeaker. I have never had such time restraints and yet been less stressed about it.

I quit twice. As I typed, I was writing my blog post in my head about the healing powers of calling it a day. At some point I realized I was still typing and just kept going. And going. I think that’s probably the reason for the lack of stress. The decision to quit is the hardest part and I already did that. The pressure was already off. Perhaps next year I’ll “quit” on the second day and not have any stress at all!

During this month of madness, my computer blue screened twice. I countered that with a reasonable repair bill, then even Black Fridayed myself into a new laptop – lighter, smaller. Tuck in my bag and go.

I had two Thanksgivings I was chief cook and hostess for. So I wrote sections of chapters in my head as I carved turkeys and timed casseroles.

I have a stack of late bills to be paid, a disgusting house, a pile of laundry, and a neglected dog.

I also have a novel of just over 52,000 words which is not especially well written and which will join others like it, filed for posterity in a thumb drive, probably never to be seen again.

“Are you going to try for publication?”

Nah.

“Are you going to print it up?”

Nah.

“Then why do you do it?”

Oh…the question of the ages.

I do it because the story is in there and I’m a better person when it’s allowed to come out. My life is better for having met, fallen in love with, and followed these characters who showed up here this past month.

Will I do it again?

Yes. I truly feel I have no choice. I’ve gone stretches without story and I became a mere shadow of myself. I will write at a more leisurely pace through the year and join the mad race to 50k words again next November.

Now I need to pay those bills and give the pooch some pats.

And hire a cleaning service.

2 thoughts on “Close Finish

Leave a Reply

