When I click play on James Taylor’s “Up on the Roof,” I swear my blood pressure goes down into normal peoples’ range.  There’s just something about that song…

Your assignment is to go download that song right now.  Go on.  If you don’t have a streaming service, then it’s only 99 cents for the single and WORTH IT.  I’ll wait…

Okay – I know now you understand.

This old world was getting me down this morning and that song came up on my playlist.  I sighed.  I can’t help it.  The tension went at least partly out of my shoulders and I emotionally settled in [I was driving, so curling up right then and closing my eyes may have been my desire, but not an option.] and enjoyed the musical ride.

As I was vicariously avoiding people too much for me to face and letting my cares just drift right into space, my mind was drawn spaceward and I felt that familiar grin.  I love when God does that – He just waits for me to “get there,” and all the while I sense He’s grinning at me and waiting.  That’s when my brain stops on its current path and I try to figure out His message.  There’s God Stuff in this moment and I don’t want to miss it.

“You’re my roof.”

Peaceful as can be where the world can’t bother me. It’s a place where wishing (I would revise that to praying) can make it so.

He’s my roof.  He’s the place where I can go to get away from the rat race noise and be where the air is fresh and sweet.

And I don’t have to wait for the song to come up on my playlist.

But there’s more to that song.  Sure I have a refuge in the midst of trouble, but in a romantic twist, Taylor suggests there’s room for two and someone can join him. My God stuff doesn’t have to be just ME stuff.  This is the kind of stuff I think everyone should know about. And it isn’t divided by sharing, it’s amplified, multiplied.

Is this old world getting you down?  Are people too much for you to face?  Psst!  I found a paradise that’s trouble-proof!

Come on – meet me on The Roof.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

